Encino is also a place of unique origins. In 1769 Gasper de Portola landed in the Monterey region of California. During his expedition he was greeted by several hundred Grabielino Indians near Encino Springs under the mighty oak trees that would give Encino its name, which is Spanish for “oak tree.” Within a generation, Encino Springs was know throughout California. He returned to Spain after claiming the territory for the King and Queen of Spain.
In 1810, as a result of the Mexican Revolution, Rancho Los Encinos was granted to the favored Grabielino Indians. At that time the rancho covered about seven square miles. However, with the coming of U.S. laws and taxes in the 1840s, the heirs of the orginal land grant lost ownership of the land and it eventually ended up in the hands of Vincent De La Ossa. De La Ossa built a sizeable adobe (which still stands), grazed 500 cattle, and employeed 20 ranch hands until he died in the 1860s.
Eugene and Phillipe Garnier bought the property and built the Encino Roadhouse which became a twice-a-day stop for both the Butterfield and the Overland Mail Stage between Los Angeles and San Francisco. They also diversified the ranch and raised sheep, wheat, and barley. In the early 20th Century the community of Encino began to be developed.
History of the Encino Chamber
The Encino Chamber of Commerce began in 1927, but was temporarily disbanded during the great depression. The Chamber, which was revived in 1936, worked closely with the community to assist in the development of Encino. Just off Ventura and Balboa Boulevards is the Los Encinos State Park which still includes some of the original buildings constructed by the Garniers.
The boundaries of Encino are:
- North – Victory Blvd.
- South – Mulholland Dr.
- West – Lindley Ave.
- East – San Diego Freeway